Hope 2021 for string quintet and piano (PDF)

Alakotila, Timo
Title: Hope 2021 for string quintet and piano (PDF)
Authors: Alakotila, Timo (Composer)
Product number: 9790550166899
Product form: Digital download, PDF
Availability: After purchase immediately available for download
Publication date: 27.12.2022
Price: 15,90 € (14,45 € vat 0 %)

Publisher: Fennica Gehrman
Edition: 2022
Publication year: 2022
Language: English, Finnish
Format: PDF
Protection type: Vesileima
Pages: 22
Product family: PDF download
Chamber music
Piano trios, quartets & quintets
Other ensembles
Ensembles and salon orchestra (download edition)
Finnish library classification: 78.515 Sekstetit
Key words: kamarimusiikki, kansanmusiikki
Downloadable and printable PDF edition / Ladattava ja itse tulostettava PDF-nuotti.

Composer, musician Timo Alakotila (b. 1959) is a distinguished, active and versatile talent in the Finnish music scene whose long career working with different genres of music - folk music in particular - has been ground-breaking. Alakotila's works showcase his versatility: he has produced highly acclaimed classical music compositions and arrangements for Pekka and Jaakko Kuusisto, the Meta4 quartet, the Kamus and Tempera quartets, Eeva Oksala, Dalia Stasevska and Jorma Hynninen, among others.

Timo Alakotila's Hope 2021 was commissioned by Kaustinen Chamber Music Week and its artistic director, violinist Kaija Saarikettu. The topic of the work invokes the hope for brighter future after the pandemic. It is scored for string quintet (two violins, viola, cello and double bass) and piano. The middle section, a wistful minuet with folk music features is enveloped with hopeful melody both opening and closing the work.

Duration: c. 4'

This product includes the full score (=piano part) and the string parts (2 violinis, viola, violoncello, double bass).

Recommended items