Quintet for Bassoon and String Quartet — Score

Aho, Kalevi
Title: Quintet for Bassoon and String Quartet — Score
Authors: Aho, Kalevi (Composer)
Product number: 9790042082416
Availability: Delivery in 7-16 days
Price: 51,70 € (47,00 € vat 0 %)

Publ. product code: M042082416
Publisher: Fennica Gehrman
Edition: 0
Language: undefined
Pages: 85
Product family: Chamber music
Other ensembles
Library classification: 78.5144 Puhallinsoitin ja neljä jousisoitinta
The six movements of Aho's quintet (1977) focus on the dual nature of the bassoon - its ability to express both the comic and the tragic. The first two movements display explicit humour and parody but the work moves via an intense Scherzo towards its tragic fulfillment in the Epilogue. According to Gramophone (Guy S. Rickards) this is a substantial modern chamber work with meaty parts for the bassoon in an idiom which ought not to alienate audiences.

Recommended items