Solo XV - Marimba (PDF)

Aho, Kalevi
Title: Solo XV - Marimba (PDF)
Authors: Aho, Kalevi (Composer)
Product number: 9790550166738
Product form: Digital download, PDF
Availability: After purchase immediately available for download
Publication date: 29.4.2022
Price: 11,10 € (10,09 € vat 0 %)

Publisher: Fennica Gehrman
Edition: 2022
Publication year: 2022
Language: English, Finnish
Format: PDF
Protection type: Vesileima
Pages: 8
Product family: Other instruments
PDF download
Other instruments (download edition)
Finnish library classification: 78.872 Marimba. Patarummut
Key words: lyömäsoittimet, lyömäsoitinteokset, marimba
Folder, 2022
Loose leaf or partwork – sheets / parts and binder / wallet
13,90 €

Downloadable and printable PDF edition / Ladattava ja itse tulostettava PDF-nuotti.

Kalevi Aho's Solo XV for marimba and three triangles (2018) proceeds to a motor-like beat in music dominated by semiquavers momentarily interrupted by eight short triangle entries. The triangle parts gradually get longer towards the end, and during them the soloist has a chance to change the marimba sticks from soft to hard and back. The triangles also create an ethereal, lingering contrast to the motoric music.

Solo XV was composed in November 2018 as a Christmas present for Austrian percussionist Martin Grubinger, who had performed Aho's percussion concerto Sieidi dozens of times in many countries.

Duration: c. 11'

Recommended items