Symphony for Strings - Parts (33221)

Nordgren, Pehr Henrik
Title: Symphony for Strings - Parts (33221)
Authors: Nordgren, Pehr Henrik (Composer)
Product number: 9790550110304
Product form: Boxed Sets & Collections
Availability: Delivery in 7-16 days
Price: 107,50 € (97,73 € vat 0 %)

Publisher: Fennica Gehrman
Edition: 2011
Publication year: 2011
Language: undefined
Product family: Orchestral & stage works
String orchestra
Finnish library classification: 78.521 Jousiorkesterit
Pehr Henrik Nordgren (1944-2008) completed Symphony for Strings op. 43 in 1978. Kimmo Korhonen writes: "The work is in five movements, of which the first, third and fifth are slow; their grave pathos provides the framework on which is hung the expression for the entire work. The fast second movement is musically the most diverse, already in terms of the different playing methods employed and the broader colour-spectrum. The main theme bursts forth at several points throughout the movement - and in places its message is put across very insistently indeed - being set against a collage of whining glissandos, extremely high sounds played behind the bridge of the instrument, earsplitting clusters, or mysterious trills and tremolo fields. The finale is the dramaturgical climax of the work. Its anguished, tortured harmony is resolved at a number of strategically important points by major and minor triads; one of such is left playing in the closing bars, tranquil and reassuring."

I Andantino
II Con moto
III Espressivo
IV Intermezzo
V Adagio

Duration: 20'

This product is a set of parts:
3 x Violino I
3 x Violino II
2 x Viola
2 x Violoncello
1 x Contrabasso

The score is available as product no. 9790550096141.

Recommended items