Viimeiset kiusaukset (The Last Temptations) - Piano reduction (PDF) — Ooppera / Opera

Kokkonen, Joonas; Kokkonen, Lauri
Title: Viimeiset kiusaukset (The Last Temptations) - Piano reduction (PDF) — Ooppera / Opera
Authors: Kokkonen, Joonas (Composer)
Kokkonen, Lauri (Author)
Asikainen, Pekka (Preface by)
Product number: 9790550165618
Product form: Digital download, PDF
Availability: After purchase immediately available for download
Publication date: 15.4.2021
Price: 34,10 € (31,00 € vat 0 %)

Publisher: Fennica Gehrman
Edition: 2021
Publication year: 2021
Language: Finnish
Format: PDF
Protection type: Vesileima
Pages: 270
Product family: Vocal works
Operas and other scenic works
PDF download
Voice(s) and keyboard instrument (download edition)
Finnish library classification: 78.351 Oopperat
Key words: oopperat, laulajat, pianoreduktiot
Downloadable and printable PDF edition / Ladattava ja itse tulostettava PDF-nuotti.
The corrected and updated edition of the piano reduction of the opera The Last Temptations (Viimeiset kiusaukset, 1973-75) is made by Pekka Asikainen, who has worked with it as a répétiteur for decades, and the conductor Ulf Söderblom. The publication marks 100th anniversary of Joonas Kokkonen (1921-1996), celebrated in 2021.

The Last Temptations (Viimeiset kiusaukset), an opera in two acts by Joonas Kokkonen to a libretto by Lauri Kokkonen, is considered one of the most important Finnish operas. The opera deals with the life of the late eighteenth- and early nineteenth-century folk preacher Paavo Ruotsalainen. Kokkonen worked on the opera for 16 years before finishing the work. It was premiered in Helsinki by the Finnish National Opera in 1975. The opera consists of two acts divided in 14 scenes. The combining element of the work is the hymn number 382 in the current Finnish hymnal of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland, My Lord, my God in all distress Finnish: Sinuhun turvaan Jumala (382) which is a reoccurring theme throughout the opera. A chorus containing the whole hymn concludes the opera.

Joonas Kokkosen ooppera Viimeiset kiusaukset (1973-75) saa säveltäjänsä 100-vuotisjuhlan kunniaksi korjatun ja uudistetun laitoksen pianoreduktiosta. Pekka Asikaisen ja Ulf Söderblomin suurtyö saattaa suomalaisen oopperataiteen merkkiteoksen lisäksi saataville ensikäden tietoa sävellysprosessista ja kantaesityksen harjoitusprosessista.

Recommended items